• Back to News & Events
    October 29, 2015
    Chamber Recognizes Business Leaders at Annual Dinner
    MUNCIE, IN – The Muncie-Delaware County Chamber of Commerce held its 121st Annual Meeting: A dinner, silent auction and awards program on October 29, 2015 with nearly 325 business and community leaders in attendance. The event, held at Horizon Convention Center, is the Chamber’s annual meeting and awards event. Inside INdiana Business host Gerry Dick was a special guest and helped communicate the Chamber’s accomplishments over the past year.

    Chamber-Dinner_9528-(2).jpgThe Chamber presented the Spirit of Small Business Award to Dalton and Company Professional Cleaning Supply. Owned and operated by Sue Dalton, Dalton and Company has built a reputation of excellent customer service. Dalton opened her business in 2003 and her company has increased gross revenues each year and has grown over 1400% since inception. She, along with her family, is very involved in the community.

    Project Leadership was recognized with the Chamber’s Outstanding Contribution to Education Award. Project Leadership began in 2000 in an effort to increase educational attainment. Project Leadership works to prepare students for success before, during, and after college. They currently work hand-in-hand with the Chamber to present FAFSA labs at area high schools.
    John M. Craddock was named the recipient of the Chamber’s Excellence in Public Service Award. Craddock is credited with leading the charge to clean up the White River. He was the first director of the Bureau of Water Quality. Though he is now retired, Craddock is still very active in many boards and organizations.

    The Chamber’s Community Impact Award was presented to Mid-West Metal Products. In 2015, they have made significant capital investments in their Industria Centre property. Formed in 1921, Mid-West Metal is a family owned company. Their product lines include pet homes and products, fan guards, wire guards for store fixtures, refrigerator racks and wire and steel components for other equipment manufacturers.

    The Ball Brothers Foundation also presented the fifth Fisher Governance Award to Juli Metzger. Metzger was nominated by Project Leadership and the Boys and Girls Club of Muncie for her outstanding volunteer leadership to both organizations.

    Incoming Board Chair John Littler, Littler Diecast, recognized outgoing Board Chair Jeff Daniels, Muncie Auto Group, for his service over the past year. Other outgoing chamber board members were also recognized. They included:  Roger Lavery, Ball State University CCIM; Scott McKee, First Merchants Bank; and, Nicholas Tokar, DeFur Voran, LLP.

    Board leadership for the 2015 – 2016 year was introduced. In addition to Littler, Magi Kirkpatrick Sikora, Estep Doctor & Company, will be Chair-elect; Andy Bowne, IVY Tech Community College will be the Vice Chair of Operations;  Chris Caldwell, MutualBank, will serve as Vice Chair of Economic Development; Rich Spisak, Ball Brothers Foundation, will serve as Vice Chair for Community & Government Relations; Gary Thomas, Thomas Office Solutions, will serve as Vice Chair for Community Environment; and Daniels will remain on the Board as Immediate Past Chair. Additionally new members of the Board were also introduced: they include Mark Ervin, Beasley Gilkison, LLP; Chris Fancher, Muncie Power Products; Jeff Parsons, First Merchants Bank; and Kirk Schafer, Meridian Health Services.

    Additional Board members include: Charlene Alexander, Ball State University; Lori Luther, IU Health; Cherí O’Neill, Ball State University Foundation; Jim Shirvinski, PRS/Locomotive and Railcar Services Group; and Casey Stanley, Ontario Systems.

    The Muncie Delaware County Chamber of Commerce has been serving the community since 1894.