Back to News & Events
October 19, 2017

Chamber Recognizes Business Leaders at Annual Dinner

MUNCIE, IN – The Muncie-Delaware County Chamber of Commerce held its 122nd Annual Meeting: A dinner, silent auction and awards program on October 27, 2016 with over 300 business and community leaders in attendance.  The event, held at Horizon Convention Center, is the Chamber’s annual meeting and awards event.

Chamber Board Chairman John Littler led the report to members on the acc

omplishments of the pri

or year.

The Chamber presented the Spirit of Small Business Award to Chris Piche ( pronounced P SHAY) of The Fickle Peach.   The Fickle Peach has been open in Downtown Muncie for over ten years and Piche is very active inthe community and a strong supporter of many non-profit groups and one of the organizers of Indiana Public Radio’s All Beers Considered event.

The Muncie Southside Middle School SWAGGER Recovery Team was recognized with the Chamber’s Outstanding Contribution to Education Award. Faculty and Administrators have worked to reduce discipline problems and improve grade point averages for students at Muncie Southside. Kelli Turner, Principal at Southside, accepted the award on behalf of her staff.

Michael Long was named the recipient of the Chamber’s Excellence in Public Service Award. Long is currently the President of the Muncie Community Schools Board of Trustees. He is a champion for pre-school education to allow students to enter kindergarten ready to learn. He has also been a champion for building bridges with the School Corporation, business and concerned clergy.

The Chamber’s Community Impact Award was presented to Pridemark Construction. Opening in 2010 with seven employees and a payroll just over $344,000, they currently employ 42 employees and their payroll is over $2.5 million with payroll, benefits and taxes. They have worked on several public works projects and owner, Michael Tschour, is involved in numerous non-profit organizations and boards.

The Ball Brothers Foundation also presented the sixth Fisher Governance Award to Ron Orebaugh. Orebaugh was nominated by the Delaware County Soil and Water Conservation Board.

Incoming Board Chair Magi Kirkpatrick Sikora, recognized outgoing Board Chair John Littler for his service over the past year. Other outgoing chamber board members were also recognized. They included: Jeff Daniels, Muncie Auto Group; Lori Luther, IU Health-Ball Memorial Hospital; Jim Shrivinski, Progress Rail; Rich Spisak, Ball Brothers Foundation; and, Gary Thomas, LEAP Managed IT.

Board leadership for the 2016 – 2017 year was introduced. In addition to Sikora, Estep Doctor & Company, Chris Caldwell of MutualBank will be Chair-elect; Jeff Parsons, First Merchants Bank will be the Vice Chair of Operations; Steve Smith, Mid-West Metal, will serve as Vice Chair of Economic Development; Scott Smalstig, Meridian Health Services will serve as Vice Chair for Community & Government Relations; J Chapman, WOOFBOOM Radio Group will serve as Vice Chair for Community Environment; and Littler will remain on the Board as Immediate Past Chair. Additionally new members of the Board were also introduced: they include Terry Pence, IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital; Smalstig, Smith and Chapman.

Additional Board members include: Charlene Alexander, Ball State University; Cheri` O’Neill, Ball State University Foundation; Casey Stanley, Ontario Systems; Chris Fancher, Muncie Power Products; Andy Bowne, IVY Tech Community College; Mark Ervin, Beasley Gilkison; and, Kirk Shafer, Meridian Health Services.

The Muncie Delaware County Chamber of Commerce has been serving the community since 1894.